Top 10 Red Velvet B-sides

A Aiman
5 min readMar 11, 2021

--

Another day, another list and this one is no different as we have one of the current queens in, Red Velvet. Choosing songs on this list was TOUGH in every sense of the word because they honestly have some of the best songs of the current generation. The same note applies as always and that it’s my list and I may be biased towards certain albums, which in RV’s case that’s gonna be a lot so let’s see how the torture went down.

10. Happily Ever After

Starting off the list with some normal RV craziness from the Rookie album. The only surprising thing about this entry is considering the fact that it isn’t even my favourite from the album (Talk To Me is so surprisingly it lost out). However, this song is just RV’s red side at it’s finest with fun, wacky beats and the standard but the still amazing harmonic progression that’s expected from them just makes this a really fun listen. Adding all the fun sound effects in between, like the car beeps before the chorus and the catchy hook of hap-hap-hap just makes this a classic ear-worm.

9. Candy

Ballad time has arrived and it is an all-time classic in my book. Probably the oldest song on the list too which just proves that statement. It’s a standard pop ballad which I always love but with the way it’s written, it just makes for such a sweet song. Nothing much to say for this one other than the instrumentation is beautiful, amazing vocal work but I wouldn’t expect it any less from the ladies and this song would be great to sing at my wedding can’t deny that, just saying.

8. Kingdom Come

Time for the fan favourite and for good reason too, this song is great. The song sounds so old school, the percussion sample throughout is one of them, and the entire ambience sounds old school too. But when that chorus hits it really just feels like royalty has unveiled itself, literally I feel like the royal family has stepped down and is making rounds whenever the chorus hits. Overall this is just an R&B delight.

7. Swimming Pool

And now we’re back to fun RV and I LOVE THIS SONG. I feel like unless I’m already familiar with their Japanese songs already, Japanese songs are always hidden under my radar until I go looking for it and I’m glad I found this earlier on. It’s such a typical summer pop song that would fit right in High School Musical or the likes and it’s amazing. It’s literally the epitome of the standard perfect sunny pop song and I love it.

6. I Just

Definitely one of the more tamer songs out of RV’s wilder side, this song still has a unique sound to its instrumentation which is the to expected to the wild genius Hitchhiker himself. It still has that Hitchhiker sound with the expected RV style and it just works so well. Who knew RV’s usual R&B style and capabilities would work so well with weird EDM? Well, it’s been showcased many times throughout the years and will show itself again on this list.

5. Cool Hot Sweet Love

But for now, we shall get back into R&B Velvet because it is always great to listen to but The Velvet album is one of my favourites for a reason. It’s just traditional sexy dance R&B that we all love to listen to paired with the RV flavour and we have a recipe for a good time. I have nothing else to say except I really like this song a lot, but I like all songs on this list a lot.

4. Jumpin

Weird Velvet be back and it’s still not as weird but it does get you pretty jumpin (heh yes pun intended). This song is a whole bundle of fun and it really invokes the feeling of swerving and jumping side to side. The chorus is quite isolated but still has a great, fun bounce to it while the verses still have that grooving bass line. There’s not too much going on in the instrumentation but it does make for a great song to move around to.

3. So Good

R&B Velvet is back with an even better sexy song for this list because this time we have EDM elements in the sexiness. The overall ambience of this song just screams out ‘LUXURY’ with how refined the sound is and the choices of samples in the song help accentuate that. The keys being struck in the chorus was a great touch and the bridge is just amazing, probably my favourite section besides the chorus itself. I don’t have many thoughts for these songs lately but So Good is REALLY that good, sweet sexy goodness.

2. Eyes Locked, Hands Locked

R&B Velvet is back again but the more pop ballad approach this time, which is always welcomed in my lists. This one is just PURE R&B chords and pop ballad goodness with the luscious harmonized chorus that SM is known for doing but this chorus just feels way different. Probably because of the instrumentation but the lush harmonies with how the song is done is just the perfect fit made in heaven. Basically what I’m saying is I love R&B Velvet with harmonies.

1. Mr. E

Finally, the top song is none other than the summer song with the pun that took me a bit too long to realize at first. Craziest song on the list at number 1 with so much chromaticism through the song, modal mixture, textural changes and the AHHHHHH COME TAKE IT. This song is like the crazier, more EDM version of Zoo with how crazy and fun this song is. Those synth patches in the song are tasty as hell too. Basically, what I’m saying is this song is one crazy ride and it’s amazing and that’s why it’s my favourite RV song.

And that comes to the end of the long torturous list called ranking RV songs. This one took so long to rank, let alone pick 10 songs to put on the list. Not sure who I’ll do next or when but I’ll probably need a break to make up for all the time spent on these. If I don’t see yall, good morning, good afternoon and good night.

--

--