Top 10 LOONA B-sides

A Aiman
6 min readApr 14, 2021

--

LOONAtheworld is here and I almost forgot about them I hate to admit it but if we combine all subunit and solo songs, we technically have enough for a list so here we are. I love Loona in almost everything they do but a lot of that love goes towards a lot of their title tracks so making this list was cutting it quite close. By that I mean you can tell when I’m being biased based on what songs are on here and place they’re at.

PS. list includes a mixture of solos and subunit songs mixed in with the full group ones so I tried my best to keep it as balanced as I can.

10. Twilight

Starting off with a solo B-side and this is pretty damn good. Just to note this is coming from someone who didn’t really like Eclipse or most of the solo B-sides for that matter so this is the ONLY solo song on here. But considering this is coming from Cha Cha Malone of all people, I’m expecting some pretty good stuff and this is really damn good albeit much more simpler compared to stuff he’s produced for Jay Park. This is just pure R&B goodness, nice, slow and sexy and it’s all really well done. I don’t have much to say, I just really like this song in general.

9. You and me Together

First subunit song and my favourite unit among the 3, this is just pure goodness. Fun, upbeat and all happy feelings flowing in, enough to keep me happy for a good few hours or so. For reals though, production on this is great like the instrumentation is crisp as hell. Funky bassline hidden in the mix combined with some great synth patches and a really good progression to go along with it too. It’s also oddly very powerful sounding, production wise I mean like the way it’s been put together really puts a powerful happy punch to it.

8. Oh (Yes I Am)

First group song on the list and this is one hell of a song to go through. This is probably their most intricate song, in terms of sound design as theres a lot of different textures and sound samples being used that each section feels uniquely different while still being very interesting and coherent. My personal favourite parts is really all the different percussion hits throughout the different sections and those synth patches are tasty as hell like their synth choices are top notch for this song. The vocal lines are well written too, it all flows so well with the instrumentation and it feels woven into it altogether and just this one whole coherent song so interesting to listen to. Basically this song has a lot of cool things happening texture-wise and it’s awesome.

7. ODD Front

Next subunit song and in a way this is also kind of cheating since its like a remix on a title track but it’s still considered a B-side so its here. I was never a fan of the original Girl Front for some reason but this version of the song is right up my alley. It’s like a more intricate version of the song with more interesting texture changes while keeping the LOONA sound people are familiar with. It still has all the same vocal lines and what not but all the different instrumental changes makes this song sound so fresh in a weird but good way because all these different changes really has my attention like it makes me pay attention because well it’s gotten weirder.

6. frozen

Last subunit song of the list and it does not disappoint at all. Much like its name, it really does feel like it came from a Disney movie, not necessarily Frozen but it does sound like a song that would fit that chilly, freezy wonderland. The instrumental really feels like you’re travelling in some far away land and I’m not making usual comments on the music but I don’t even know why I like this so much. It’s quite bare while also having enough to keep my attention like with the choice of synths is quite interesting and plays into the frozen theme pretty well. Basically I just like this song I don’t really knwo why.

5. Universe

It’s all group songs from here on out and this is all good stuff. Universe is so spacey and I don’t mean that ironically, it’s quite bare and the pre-chorus build up is AMAZING. The overall ambience feels like I’d be at a ball or prom of some sort and this is slow dance time, it just works PERFECTLY. Chorus could have a bit more going on but the vocal lines and string line for the pre-chorus is great I love it. The synth choices here are great too and blends extremely well with the string line. Also I don’t say this a whole lot but the song really fits their vocal timbres a lot like its really complimenting each other a lot.

4. Where you at

Ballad time and I love it of course, even if it is a simple pop ballad. Simple thing out of the way first but the song writing for this is so typical and cheesy I LOVE IT. The vocal lines are well written too like its still pretty cheesy but not repetitive or boring enough to make me well BORED. Instrumentation is quite simple too but the chord progression is quite nice I like it a lot and the underlying layer of synths is great too, gives me a warm feeling inside for some reason. Overall it’s a pretty damn simple song but I like it a lot.

3. Curiosity

The most underrated full group song they have and I mean this because I don’t think enough people in this fandom know about this song. It’s hella funky and pops off with those synth patches like DAMN. Texture-wise there isn’t much changes but harmonically this song GOES PLACES. Especially during the chorus when the synth just chromatically moves around like that’s just tasty hmmm. Really underrated song that needs more love like all that good funky goodness needs more love.

2. Stylish

Ooooo I may also wanna add I love this song a lot despite how simple it is. This top half of the list I just love for reasons I can’t exactly explain and this is no exception. It’s hella simple I can’t deny that, with the repeating R&B EDM synth for the chorus and other parts of the song but I like it a lot like to go on a tangent for a bit but that synth is SEXY as all hell and I love it how ever its used in the song. The starting of the chorus where it thins out and only the vocal line and the underlying harmony is there is great, really gives it impact as a chorus. I don’t have much commentary for this but ugh I really do like the repeating synth pattern and the song writing in general is great.

1. Ding Ding Dong

Ending it with a happy LOONA song and it is AMAZING like harmonically this song goes places, much like Curiosity but this one is more apparent. It’s quite intricate and the samples used are excellent, despite the very sparse texture changes. The chord progression is great and the percussion samples used hits really well and of course the song writing works really well. Standout for me though is how in random parts of the song, and especially the bridge, they go to the parallel major and it throws me off so much but that’s what makes it so interesting. When you have such an upbeat, cute song like this and you throw in weird chord changes that still sounds so cool paired with amazing percussion samples used just makes this an amazing song to listen to.

LOONAtheworld list is now done and this was quite hard considering I’m quite biased towards two albums. Putting the solos and subunit might’ve helped but most of the solos are amazing but not so much the B-sides. As for the subunits, I really do like them a lot but picking songs for this list was already hard enough as it is so to make it fair I picked one song for each unit. That’s all the explanation I’ll give and I don’t know what else to say for the upcoming lists so in case I don’t see ya good afternoon, good evening and good night.

--

--